Early day motion 2660

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the vital contributionmadeby Alan Turing to Britain's war effort by inventing the machine that broke the Enigma code; regrets that following his years of national service he received a criminal conviction for having a sexual relationship with another man; further regrets that he was forced to take oestrogen therapy or be sent to prison if he did not comply; further regrets that he went on to take his own life on 8 June 1954 at the age of just 41 years; further notes that so far over 21,000 people have signed the e-petition on the 10 Downing Street website calling for Alan Turing to be pardoned; and supports these calls, and acknowledges the huge and unnecessary suffering that he and so many other gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender people have had to endure.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 28

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 28 out of 28

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 31.01.2012
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 20.02.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 01.02.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 31.01.2012
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 02.02.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 31.01.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 02.02.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 02.02.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 30.01.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 28.02.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 08.02.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 30.01.2012
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats Bermondsey and Old Southwark 30.01.2012
Huhne, Chris Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 23.04.2012
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 30.01.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 01.02.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 30.01.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 23.02.2012
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 31.01.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 31.01.2012
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 20.02.2012
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 02.02.2012
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 02.02.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 30.01.2012
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 01.02.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 31.01.2012
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 20.02.2012
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 01.02.2012