Early day motion 2650

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates the Union of Shop, Distributive and Allied Workers, Usdaw, in supporting union members who are former employees of Woolworths by pursuing a protective claim on their behalf, which has resulted in most staff receiving a paymentas compensation for the sudden loss of their jobs with no notice or consultation with the trade union; is appalled that thousands of staff have been denied such payment solely on the grounds of their having worked in one of the 200 stores withfewer than 20 employees; and calls on the Government to ensure that all former staff of Woolworths receive the Protective Award payment, regardless of the size of store in which they worked, to prevent further unfair discrimination against staff in smaller workplaces.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 72

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 72 out of 72

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ainsworth, Bob Labour Party Coventry North East 07.03.2012
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 01.02.2012
Banks, Gordon Labour Party Ochil and South Perthshire 06.02.2012
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 31.01.2012
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 30.01.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 26.01.2012
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 06.03.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 31.01.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 31.01.2012
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 07.02.2012
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 02.02.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 26.01.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 30.01.2012
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 01.02.2012
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 01.02.2012
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 07.02.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 31.01.2012
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 08.02.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 31.01.2012
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 01.02.2012
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 26.03.2012
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 20.03.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 31.01.2012
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 30.01.2012
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 26.01.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 05.03.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 05.03.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 30.01.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 28.02.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 08.02.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 30.01.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 30.01.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 01.02.2012
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 30.01.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 30.01.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 30.01.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 01.02.2012
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 01.02.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 01.02.2012
McGovern, Alison Labour Party Wirral South 27.03.2012
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 08.02.2012
McKechin, Ann Labour Party Glasgow North 29.02.2012
McKenzie, Iain Labour Party Inverclyde 02.02.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 30.01.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 16.04.2012
Michael, Alun Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 23.03.2012
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 30.01.2012
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 01.02.2012
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 29.02.2012
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 31.01.2012
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 08.02.2012
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 01.02.2012
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 16.04.2012
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 25.01.2012
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 02.02.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 01.02.2012
Roy, Frank Labour Party Motherwell and Wishaw 02.02.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 20.02.2012
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 31.01.2012
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 02.02.2012
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 25.01.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 31.01.2012
Smith, Nick Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 05.03.2012
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 31.01.2012
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 12.03.2012
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 09.03.2012
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 06.02.2012
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 07.02.2012
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 01.03.2012
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 05.03.2012
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 09.03.2012
Woodward, Shaun Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 23.04.2012