Early day motion 2644

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the tragic loss of life caused by Sudden Unexpected Death in Epilepsy (SUDEP), estimated at around 500 deaths in the UK each year; recognises that young people first taking responsibility for their own medication are particularly vulnerable to SUDEP; further notes the findings of a recent fatal accident inquiry held in Dundee Sheriff Court that the deaths of two young women aged 19 and 15 yearsmay have been avoided had the women and their parents received sufficient information about the risk of SUDEP on first diagnosis; and calls on the Department of Health to do everything in its power to raise awareness of the risks of SUDEP, with particular emphasis on teenagers and young people moving towards independence, to ensure those affected by epilepsy, and where relevant their families, are adequately informed of how best to reduce the risks associated with the condition.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 42

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 42 out of 42

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 08.02.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 25.01.2012
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 31.01.2012
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 25.01.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 31.01.2012
Clappison, James Conservative Party Hertsmere 19.04.2012
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 02.02.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 30.01.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 31.01.2012
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 02.02.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 29.02.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 25.01.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 31.01.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 25.01.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 30.01.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 28.02.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 08.02.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 30.01.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 30.01.2012
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 02.02.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 30.01.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 01.02.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 23.02.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 31.01.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 30.01.2012
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 30.01.2012
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 02.02.2012
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 01.02.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 28.02.2012
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 02.02.2012
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 02.02.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 08.02.2012
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 26.01.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 31.01.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 31.01.2012
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 31.01.2012
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 30.01.2012
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 31.01.2012
Vickers, Martin Conservative Party Cleethorpes 02.02.2012
Weatherley, Mike Conservative Party Hove 31.01.2012
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 02.02.2012
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 01.02.2012