Early day motion 2642

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that Japan is one of the world's largest importers of tropical timber and that in 2008 Chatham House estimated the value of illegally-sourced wood products imported by Japan at US$2.3 billion; further notes that informal discussions about a possible free trade agreement are taking place between the EU and Japan; believes that any such agreement should have provisions to counter imports of illegally-sourced timber into Japan which would as minimum render Japanese import controls commensurate with Regulation (EU) No. 995/2010 (the Timber Regulation) that prohibits placing illegal timber on the EU market; and urges the Government to call on the EU to demand stringent and effective illegal logging provisions as a pre-condition for any future free trade agreement with Japan.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 29

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 29 out of 29

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 25.01.2012
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 27.02.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 31.01.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 31.01.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 26.01.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 30.01.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 31.01.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 31.01.2012
Gardiner, Barry Labour Party Brent North 24.01.2012
Goldsmith, Zac Conservative Party Richmond Park 24.01.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 30.01.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 28.02.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 30.01.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 30.01.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 30.01.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 30.01.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 25.01.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 23.02.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 31.01.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 25.01.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 30.01.2012
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 02.02.2012
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 02.02.2012
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 26.01.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 25.01.2012
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 31.01.2012
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 25.01.2012
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 02.02.2012
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 25.01.2012