Early day motion 2633

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House believes that the principle of universal credit is correct, that families should be rewarded on a proportionate basis for the amount of work that they areable to do; congratulates and supports parents who are only able to find part-time work and are bringing up their children as best they can whilst on a low household income; therefore further believes that now is the wrong time to require couples with children to increase their working hours in order to continue to qualify for 3,870 in working tax credit as additional jobs or working hours are not available; is concerned that over 200,000 couples with 470,000 children will fall into absolute poverty if they are unable to find the additional hours of work required due to cuts in staffing levels and high unemployment; and therefore calls on the Government not to implement the proposed increase to the criteria for working hours for couples with children to qualify for working tax credit in April 2012.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 52

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 52 out of 52

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ainsworth, Bob Labour Party Coventry North East 23.01.2012
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 14.03.2012
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 05.03.2012
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 09.03.2012
Blears, Hazel Labour Party Salford and Eccles 23.01.2012
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 29.02.2012
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 25.01.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 25.01.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 25.01.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 25.01.2012
Coffey, Ann Labour Party Stockport 23.01.2012
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 15.03.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 24.01.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 30.01.2012
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 27.02.2012
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 07.03.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 31.01.2012
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 02.02.2012
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 23.01.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 24.01.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 31.01.2012
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 30.01.2012
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 23.01.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 26.01.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 05.03.2012
Goggins, Paul Labour Party Wythenshawe and Sale East 07.03.2012
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 27.02.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 30.01.2012
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 23.01.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 24.01.2012
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 07.03.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 30.01.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 25.01.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 25.01.2012
McGovern, Alison Labour Party Wirral South 05.03.2012
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 08.02.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 30.01.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 29.02.2012
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 08.03.2012
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 05.03.2012
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 02.02.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 25.01.2012
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 05.03.2012
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 22.03.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 24.01.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 25.01.2012
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 27.02.2012
Stuart, Gisela Labour Party Birmingham Edgbaston 07.03.2012
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 29.02.2012
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 25.01.2012
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 09.03.2012
Woodward, Shaun Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 08.02.2012