Early day motion 2614

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates the Royal Highland Show on being voted the top show in the UK by readers of Farmers Guardian; recognises the accolade is due to the hard work of the Royal Highland and Agricultural Society of Scotland, which was founded in 1784 to promote the regeneration of rural Scotland, as well as the preservation of its poetry, language and music and which today continues to celebrate the value and values of rural areas; further recognises the Society's role in supporting the best standards in agriculture, forestry and stewardship of the countryside, which are an essential part of Scotland's heritage and future; celebrates the achievement of the Society in leading the list ahead of the Great Yorkshire Show and the Royal Welsh; looks forward to the 2012 show which runs from 21 to 24 June; commends the Society and the Show fortheir continued encouragement of advances in education, science, technology and craftsmanship; welcomes the role played by the Royal Highland Educational Trust which the Society funds and supports the Trust's aim to give every child in Scotland the opportunity to learn about food, farming and the countryside through visits and classroom talks; further recognises the Society's strong position to continue to help build a healthy economy and employment in Scotland, with its contribution of an estimated 70 million to the local and national economy; and supports the Society as it builds on its success and status as one of the most important public events in Scotland.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 10

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 10 out of 10

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 18.01.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 18.01.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 19.01.2012
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 18.01.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 18.01.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 20.01.2012
Leigh, Edward Conservative Party Gainsborough 01.02.2012
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 19.01.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 19.01.2012
Smith, Robert Liberal Democrats West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 18.01.2012