Early day motion 2608

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the Can You Solve This campaign launched by students at 26 university campuses across the UK to date; further notes this campaign highlights the plight of Iranian students denied access to higher education on grounds of their beliefs; calls for an immediate end to the unjust and oppressive practices of the Islamic Republic of Iran in denying education to young people for ideological reasons; and further calls on the Government to join the thousands of students who have already spoken up on this issue by using the full range of bi-lateral and multilateral diplomatic channels at their disposal to press the Iranian authorities to end their practices of denying access to university or expelling from university young Iranian citizens on the grounds of their religious, political or social beliefs.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 23

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 23 out of 23

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 17.01.2012
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 17.01.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 19.01.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 24.01.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 30.01.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 19.01.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 17.01.2012
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 17.01.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 24.01.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 18.01.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 24.01.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 20.01.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 23.01.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 25.01.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 17.01.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 25.01.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 25.01.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 18.01.2012
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 19.01.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 25.01.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 17.01.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 18.01.2012
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 20.01.2012