Early day motion 2595

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises the contribution community sentences make to reducing reoffending rates and keeping communities safer as a result; notes that community sentences cost on average a tenth of what it costs to send a person to prison for a year; further notes that community sentences offer a proportionate response to relatively minor offences in comparison to short-term prison sentences which often result in loss of employment, family breakdown and homelessness; further notes that community sentences can challenge and change people for the better compared to short-term prison sentences during which prisoners are left idle in their cells for most of the day; further notes that in 2009 57 per cent. of people who served a short-term prison sentence reoffended within one year of release compared to a significantly lower reoffending rate for community sentences; supports the Howard League for Penal Reform's Community sentences cut crime campaign; and believes that in order for reoffending ratesin England and Wales to fall there needs to begreater use of community sentencing rather than ineffective and expensive short-term prison sentences.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 41

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 41 out of 41

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 20.02.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 12.01.2012
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 12.01.2012
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 24.04.2012
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 26.04.2012
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 17.01.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 18.01.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 17.01.2012
Clappison, James Conservative Party Hertsmere 12.01.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 17.01.2012
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 26.04.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 19.01.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 16.01.2012
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 12.01.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 19.01.2012
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 20.02.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 17.01.2012
Goldsmith, Zac Conservative Party Richmond Park 20.02.2012
Hames, Duncan Liberal Democrats Chippenham 30.04.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 17.01.2012
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 08.02.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 17.01.2012
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats Bermondsey and Old Southwark 30.04.2012
Huhne, Chris Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 23.04.2012
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 05.03.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 20.01.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 23.01.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 12.01.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 12.01.2012
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 24.01.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 16.01.2012
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 12.01.2012
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 17.01.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 17.01.2012
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 20.01.2012
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 17.01.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 17.01.2012
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 23.04.2012
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 29.02.2012
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 16.01.2012
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 20.01.2012