Early day motion 2576

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses concern over recent instances of severe allergic reactions caused by para-phenylenediamine (PPD) used in temporary tattoos and hair dye products; further expresses particular sympathy with the family of Julie McCabe, who has been left with severe brain damage as a result of an allergic reaction to PPD; notes with concern the lack of public awareness of the risks associated with using products containing PPD on a sustained basis; further notes the availability of inexpensive and reliable skin tests for PPD allergies; and urges the Government to consider statutory regulation to make the use of such tests mandatory in the hair dressing industry where products containing PPD are being used, and to require all advertising of products containing PPD to carry clear and appropriate warning messages.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 22

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 22 out of 22

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 10.01.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 11.01.2012
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 17.01.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 11.01.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 19.01.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 11.01.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 19.01.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 12.01.2012
Gilbert, Stephen Liberal Democrats St Austell and Newquay 10.01.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 17.01.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 17.01.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.01.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 16.01.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 17.01.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 12.01.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 17.01.2012
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 20.01.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 16.01.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 11.01.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 16.01.2012
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 10.01.2012
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 10.01.2012