Early day motion 2571

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House supports full trade union rights for the Prison Officers' Association (POA); notes that the International Labour Organisation criticised the previous administration for failing to put in place alternative mechanisms for pay bargaining and matters of dispute; further notes that the Criminal Justice Act 2003 criminalises POA members if they take industrial action; believes that the POA isdenied the right to free collective bargaining over pay on behalf of its members; further believes that the absence of effective alternative mechanisms to otherwise protect prison officers' interestsis incompatible with the right under Article 11 of the European Convention on Human Rights to `freedom of assembly including the right to belong to a trade union for the protection of your interests'; further believes that the POA is the only trade union that does not have full trade union rights; and calls on the Government to take steps to restore full trade union rights to the Prison Officers' Association.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 30

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 30 out of 30

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 10.01.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 11.01.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 11.01.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 23.01.2012
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 17.01.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 10.01.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 12.01.2012
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 26.01.2012
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 25.01.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 11.01.2012
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 11.01.2012
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 09.03.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 19.01.2012
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 18.01.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 16.01.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 11.01.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 10.01.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 18.01.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 10.01.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 10.01.2012
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 08.02.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 12.01.2012
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 19.04.2012
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 10.01.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 12.01.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 16.01.2012
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 18.01.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 11.01.2012
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 11.01.2012
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 20.01.2012