Early day motion 2563

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House, recalling its support for the motion approved at the backbench debate held on 23 June 2011, directing the Government to use its powers under section 12 of the Animal Welfare Act 2006 to introduce a regulation banning the use of all wild animals in circuses to take effect by 1 July 2012, recognises that despite unanimous support for the motion from hon. Members on a cross-party basis, the Government has been unclear in its willingness to listen to the will of the House; believes that a licensing system will not address the main welfare problems that circus animals endure and may inadvertently encourage a new era of wild animal imports for circus use; underlines that routine abuse against animals will continue to occur in circuses until there is an outright ban; and urges the Government to take immediate action to fulfil the will of the House by enacting a ban on wild animals in circuses.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 90

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 90 out of 90

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 17.01.2012
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 17.01.2012
Banks, Gordon Labour Party Ochil and South Perthshire 18.01.2012
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 20.01.2012
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 25.01.2012
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 17.01.2012
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 16.01.2012
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 11.01.2012
Blackman-Woods, Roberta Labour Party City of Durham 16.01.2012
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 20.01.2012
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 16.01.2012
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 11.01.2012
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 26.01.2012
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 24.01.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 11.01.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 11.01.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 23.01.2012
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 17.01.2012
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 20.02.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 10.01.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 12.01.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 12.01.2012
Crouch, Tracey Conservative Party Chatham and Aylesford 17.01.2012
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 12.01.2012
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 10.01.2012
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 12.01.2012
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 18.01.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 11.01.2012
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 18.01.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 11.01.2012
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 11.01.2012
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 01.02.2012
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 17.01.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 19.01.2012
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 20.01.2012
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 18.01.2012
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 12.01.2012
Gilbert, Stephen Liberal Democrats St Austell and Newquay 01.02.2012
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 10.01.2012
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 12.01.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 16.01.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 16.01.2012
Goggins, Paul Labour Party Wythenshawe and Sale East 25.01.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 17.01.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 31.01.2012
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 10.01.2012
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 23.01.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 17.01.2012
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 12.01.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 10.01.2012
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 17.01.2012
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 20.02.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 12.01.2012
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 17.01.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 16.01.2012
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 17.01.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 17.01.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 23.01.2012
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 19.01.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 10.01.2012
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 12.01.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 25.04.2012
McKenzie, Iain Labour Party Inverclyde 12.01.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 12.01.2012
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 06.02.2012
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 11.01.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 16.04.2012
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 23.02.2012
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 01.02.2012
Munt, Tessa Liberal Democrats Wells Somerset 23.01.2012
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 18.01.2012
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 01.02.2012
Reevell, Simon Conservative Party Dewsbury 01.02.2012
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 18.01.2012
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 22.03.2012
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 20.01.2012
Roy, Frank Labour Party Motherwell and Wishaw 12.01.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 10.01.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 16.01.2012
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 18.01.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 12.01.2012
Smith, Robert Liberal Democrats West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 26.01.2012
Vickers, Martin Conservative Party Cleethorpes 20.01.2012
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 16.01.2012
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 11.01.2012
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 12.01.2012
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 12.01.2012
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 25.01.2012
Woodward, Shaun Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 08.02.2012
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 11.01.2012