Early day motion 2558

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that on 11 January 2012 it will be a decade since the first detainees were incarcerated at Guantnamo Bay naval base; believes that Guantnamo detainees should either be charged and prosecuted in fair trials or released to countries that will respect their human rights, including the USA if that is the only available option; further believes that US military commissions, which do not meet international fair trial standards, should be abandoned, as should any pursuit of the death penalty; considers that victims of human rights violations must be provided genuine access to effective remedy; calls for former or current US officials responsible for human rights violations to be held to account and brought to justice, including in respect of crimes under international law such as torture and enforced disappearance; further calls on the USA to recognise the applicability of, and fully respect, international human rights law when conducting counter-terrorism operations, and at detention facilities in Guantnamo, Bagram in Afghanistan and elsewhere; and urges the Government publicly to insist that President Obama address the detentions at Guantnamo Bay as a human rights issue that requires urgent attention.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 24

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 24 out of 24

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 11.01.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 10.01.2012
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 16.04.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 11.01.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 11.01.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 20.12.2011
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 19.01.2012
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 07.02.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 11.01.2012
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 10.01.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 12.01.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 16.01.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 11.01.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 31.01.2012
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 12.01.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 10.01.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 01.02.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 16.01.2012
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 07.03.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 20.12.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 10.01.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 16.01.2012
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 11.01.2012
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 12.01.2012