Early day motion 2557

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the campaign by Citizens Advice Scotland and Citizens Advice Bureaux across Scotland to tackle unfair delivery practices for consumers in remote and rural areas; notes the publication of Free Delivery*, the report from Citizens Advice Scotland which shows that consumers in rural and remote parts of Scotland are often refused delivery or charged more than people in urban areas when ordering goods online; supports Citizens Advice Scotland in urging online retailers to ensure that they comply with the law on distance selling by clearly stating delivery costs before customers enter the purchasing process, reform their delivery policies so that any charges are kept to a minimum and are based on actual costs incurred and offer delivery via Royal Mail wherever possible; and believes that the Royal Mail's Universal Service Obligation must be maintained in order to protect rural and remote consumers from high costs for delivery.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 21

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 21 out of 21

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 10.01.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 10.01.2012
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 20.12.2011
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 10.01.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 17.04.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 12.01.2012
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 10.01.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 10.01.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 11.01.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 12.01.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 11.01.2012
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 20.12.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 16.01.2012
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 15.03.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 17.01.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 10.01.2012
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 10.01.2012
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 20.12.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 10.01.2012
Smith, Robert Liberal Democrats West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 20.12.2011
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 20.12.2011