Early day motion 2555

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with alarm reports that the Secretary of State for Transport has refused to grant Transport for London's request to raise its debt ceilings in order to directly purchase Crossrail rolling stock; further notes that the alternative procurement model for the 1 billion Crossrail project is based upon the bundling-train manufacture and financing together, which is the same model that fatally stacked the odds against Bombardier for Thameslink rolling stock contract; observes that this was at the expense of 12,000 jobs in the UK; further notes the Treasury Select Committee's estimate that this funding model increases the cost to the taxpayer of procurement by 70 per cent.; believes that this distorts the procurement process in favour of larger companies that can borrow higher amounts of private capital; recognises the mortal threat to the UK rail manufacturing industry from the Crossrail contract being awarded to a bidder that would build those trains overseas; and calls on the Government to allow the cheaper public sector bid to be submitted as part of the invitation to tender for the Crossrail project.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 36

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 36 out of 36

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abrahams, Debbie Labour Party Oldham East and Saddleworth 20.12.2011
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 20.12.2011
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 12.01.2012
Beckett, Margaret Labour Party Derby South 20.12.2011
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 20.12.2011
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 20.12.2011
Cash, William Conservative Party Stone 20.12.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 11.01.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 20.12.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 20.12.2011
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 20.12.2011
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 16.01.2012
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 20.12.2011
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 23.01.2012
Denham, John Labour Party Southampton Itchen 20.12.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 10.01.2012
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 20.12.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 20.12.2011
Gardiner, Barry Labour Party Brent North 23.02.2012
Gilbert, Stephen Liberal Democrats St Austell and Newquay 10.01.2012
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 20.12.2011
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 16.01.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 10.01.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 31.01.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 20.12.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 20.12.2011
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 20.12.2011
McDonnell, John [R] Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 20.12.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 20.12.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 20.12.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 20.12.2011
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 16.01.2012
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 20.12.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 10.01.2012
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 20.12.2011
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 20.12.2011