Early day motion 2483

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with sadness the death of the manager of the Welsh national football team, Gary Speed; remembers that Gary was Wales' most capped outfield player with 85 caps and served Leeds, Everton, Newcastle, Bolton and Sheffield United with distinction; further notes that, in a 22 year career as a professional player, Gary played in nearly 700 league games including 535 Premier League matches; recognises that the Welsh national team was making significant progress under his guidance; further recognises his inspiring effect on players and supporters alike; appreciates the sorrow and loss that his death has left amongst players and football supporters from Wales and beyond; calls for greater understanding of the pressures placed on those in the media spotlight andof mental health issues in general; and expresses its deepest sympathy to his family.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 61

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 61 out of 61

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 12.12.2011
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 29.11.2011
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 29.11.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 29.11.2011
Bridgen, Andrew Conservative Party North West Leicestershire 30.11.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 30.11.2011
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 08.12.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 29.11.2011
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 30.11.2011
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 28.11.2011
Davies, David TC Conservative Party Monmouth 29.11.2011
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 30.11.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 30.11.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 01.12.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 28.11.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 28.11.2011
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 29.11.2011
Evans, Jonathan Conservative Party Cardiff North 28.11.2011
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 30.11.2011
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 28.11.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 01.02.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 30.11.2011
Griffith, Nia Labour Party Llanelli 28.11.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 28.11.2011
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 28.11.2011
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 08.12.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 06.12.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 06.12.2011
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 05.12.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 06.12.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 01.12.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 28.11.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 05.12.2011
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 28.11.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 08.12.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 08.12.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 06.12.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 29.11.2011
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 05.12.2011
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 12.12.2011
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 29.11.2011
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 01.12.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 08.12.2011
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 29.11.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 29.11.2011
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 30.11.2011
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 01.12.2011
Sarwar, Anas Labour Party Glasgow Central 29.11.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 29.11.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 08.12.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 30.11.2011
Smith, Owen Labour Party Pontypridd 01.12.2011
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 30.11.2011
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 01.12.2011
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 30.11.2011
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 28.11.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 28.11.2011
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 30.11.2011
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 28.11.2011
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 30.11.2011
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 10.01.2012