Early day motion 2472

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the amendment to the 1998 Rome Statute for the International Criminal Court (ICC) adopted on 12 June 2010 in Kampala defining the Crime of Aggression; further notes that theUK was party to the adoption of this amendment by the unanimous consensus of all states parties there present; welcomes the opportunity that this internationally agreed definition now provides for Parliament to amend the International Criminal Court Act 2001 in such a way as to incorporate that crime and its agreed definition into domestic criminal law thus making it clear that the UK now recognises the importance of upholding this supreme rule of international criminal law; further notes that this measure can be carried out independently of the future activation of the exercise of jurisdiction by the ICC itself with respect to this crime and the resolution of any difference of view as regards the role of the UN Security Council in initiating such proceedings before that court; and therefore urges the Government to bring an appropriate amendment to the ICC Act 2001 before this House with all deliberate speed in order that the Crime of Aggression is made justiciable before the UK criminal courts.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 12

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 12 out of 12

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 10.01.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 23.01.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 24.04.2012
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 20.02.2012
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 10.01.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 12.12.2011
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 23.11.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 20.12.2011
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 20.02.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 13.12.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 06.12.2011
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 17.04.2012