Early day motion 2456

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the positive change under President Santos' administration in trying to address the needs of the many victims created by the Colombian conflict, with the introduction of the Victims Law 1448; is concerned, however, that the killings and attacks against community leaders and human rights defenders working on land and victims issues continue to increase; notes that Colombia continues to be the most dangerous country in the world for human rights defenders and trade unionists; also notes that sexual violence against women in the Colombian confict is a hidden crime and the perpetrators are very rarely held to account; recognises the commitment of the British Embassy in Colombia to supporting human rights and human rights defenders; calls on the Government to ask President Santos, during his forthcoming visit to the UK, for further concrete commitments to improve the human rights situation in his country and the protection provided to defenders, trade unionists and community and church leaders; and urges all parties in the Colombian conflict to enter into dialogue to resolve the conflict peacefully.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 48

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 48 out of 48

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 22.11.2011
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 22.11.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 23.11.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 23.11.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 22.11.2011
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 22.11.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.11.2011
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 06.12.2011
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham and Rainham 22.11.2011
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 15.12.2011
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 05.12.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 22.11.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 23.11.2011
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 08.12.2011
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 05.12.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 22.11.2011
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 05.12.2011
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 22.11.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 23.11.2011
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 23.11.2011
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 29.11.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 06.12.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 22.11.2011
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 24.11.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 22.11.2011
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 01.12.2011
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 01.12.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 08.02.2012
McKenzie, Iain Labour Party Inverclyde 01.12.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 23.11.2011
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 13.12.2011
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 22.11.2011
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 29.11.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 22.11.2011
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 22.11.2011
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 22.11.2011
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 23.11.2011
Sarwar, Anas Labour Party Glasgow Central 22.11.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 23.11.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 22.11.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 23.11.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 23.11.2011
Streeter, Gary Conservative Party South West Devon 22.11.2011
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 23.11.2011
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 22.11.2011
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 10.01.2012
Walter, Robert Conservative Party North Dorset 30.11.2011
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 22.11.2011