Early day motion 2381

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recalls the historic agreement reached in Dublin on 28 May 2008 creating the international convention prohibiting the use, production, stockpiling and transfer of all cluster munitions, which has now been signed by 111 states; celebrates the role of the UK in achieving the Convention on Cluster Munitions (CCM) at that time; commends the important work the UK has undertaken to promote universal adherence to the CCM; recognises that the international norm being established by the CCM provides a powerful disincentive against the use of cluster munitions even by non-signatories; acknowledges that these weapons have killed and maimed many non-combatants in and after conflicts around the world; further recognises that some nations holding large numbers of cluster weapons still have not joined the CCM; is alarmed at the attempt by the US and others to use the United Nations Convention on certain Conventional Weapons to negotiate a new protocol on cluster munitions that would ban some older weapons but allow, indefinitely, some of the worst offenders including the BLU 97 that caused such carnage in Serbia and Kosovo in 1999 and 2000, in Afghanistan in 2001 and 2002 and in Iraq in 2003; andurges the British Government to use its influence to resist this new protocol and encourage other nations to endorse the CCM.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 36

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 36 out of 36

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 21.11.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 07.11.2011
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 15.11.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 09.11.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 07.11.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 21.11.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 08.11.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 22.11.2011
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 15.11.2011
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 14.11.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 15.11.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 08.11.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 08.11.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 22.11.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 09.11.2011
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 22.11.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 07.11.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 09.11.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 10.11.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 08.11.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 08.11.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 09.11.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 07.11.2011
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 08.11.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 07.11.2011
McKechin, Ann Labour Party Glasgow North 23.11.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 08.11.2011
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 29.11.2011
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 09.11.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 09.11.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 08.11.2011
Sarwar, Anas Labour Party Glasgow Central 21.11.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 14.11.2011
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 09.11.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 29.11.2011
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 15.11.2011