Early day motion 2339

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned at the ongoing programme of job cuts and office closures in the Jobcentre Plus network; notes that since May 2010 40 jobcentres and benefit processing offices across the UK have been announced for closure, with more expected over the next four years; is concerned that 350 jobs are at risk across 13 benefit processing sites, despite initial Government commitments to redeployment and without compulsory redundancies; further notes that unemployment rose by 114,000 to 2.57 million in September 2011, with 1.6 million people claiming jobseeker's allowance and that the Office for Budgetary Responsibility predicts this figure will rise; further notes that 12,000 jobs in the Jobcentre Plus network have been cut over the last 18 months; believes that cutting jobs that are crucial to the efficient administration of the benefit system at a time of rising unemployment and fundamental reform of the welfare system will hit the most vulnerable hardest and increase social inequality; and calls on the Government to reconsiderits decision to shrink the Jobcentre Plus network at a time of high unemployment.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 53

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 53 out of 53

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 02.11.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 09.03.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 07.11.2011
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 31.10.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 02.11.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 22.11.2011
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham and Rainham 06.12.2011
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 02.11.2011
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 21.11.2011
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 02.11.2011
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 08.12.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 02.11.2011
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 08.11.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 08.11.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 01.11.2011
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 02.11.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 02.11.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 02.11.2011
Goggins, Paul Labour Party Wythenshawe and Sale East 15.11.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 02.11.2011
Harris, Tom Labour Party Glasgow South 07.11.2011
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 23.01.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 01.11.2011
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 16.01.2012
Joyce, Eric Labour Party Falkirk 21.11.2011
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 14.11.2011
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 03.11.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 01.11.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 03.11.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 08.11.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 09.11.2011
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 21.11.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 14.11.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 01.11.2011
McKechin, Ann Labour Party Glasgow North 08.12.2011
McKenzie, Iain Labour Party Inverclyde 08.11.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 01.11.2011
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 08.11.2011
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 02.11.2011
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 02.11.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 02.11.2011
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 01.11.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 09.11.2011
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 31.10.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 07.11.2011
Sarwar, Anas Labour Party Glasgow Central 02.11.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 31.10.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 01.11.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 01.11.2011
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 09.11.2011
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 21.11.2011
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 09.11.2011
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 20.12.2011