Early day motion 2330

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House regrets the deaths of 511 patients in the UK whilst waiting for organ transplants in the year to 31 March 2011; notes that at the end of that month 7,800 UK patients were waiting for transplants; further notes that although approximately 65 per cent. of the public would be willing to donate an organ after death, only 29 per cent. are on the NHS Organ Donation Register; recognises the Welsh Government's plan to introduce a soft opt-out system of organ donation in Wales, which it believes will lead to a decrease in the number of avoidable deaths in Wales; believes that the introduction of such a system across the UK could save many hundreds of lives per year; and calls on the Government to look again at the feasibility of a UK-wide opt-out system of organ donation.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 31

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 31 out of 31

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 03.11.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 31.10.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 02.11.2011
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 07.11.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 01.11.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 10.11.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 23.11.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 01.11.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 15.11.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 14.11.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 01.11.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 01.11.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 03.11.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 09.11.2011
McCartney, Karl Conservative Party Lincoln 15.11.2011
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 23.11.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 01.11.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 02.11.2011
Percy, Andrew Conservative Party Brigg and Goole 31.10.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 01.11.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 14.11.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 01.11.2011
Stephenson, Andrew Conservative Party Pendle 02.11.2011
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 22.11.2011
Tredinnick, David Conservative Party Bosworth 01.11.2011
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 07.11.2011
Weatherley, Mike Conservative Party Hove 31.10.2011
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 15.11.2011
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 02.02.2012
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 02.11.2011
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 02.02.2012