Early day motion 2318

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that the British Army maintains depleted uranium (DU) munitions within its arsenal and that 2.3 tonnes of DU rounds were fired by UK forces during the 1991 and 2003 Iraq conflicts; recognises the potential risk to health and the environment that accompanies the use of these weapons; appreciates the costs and technical difficulties associated with managing sites and material contaminated by their use; further notes that UK radioactive waste discharge policy is based on both the precautionary and polluter pays principles and that international pressure over the use of DU is increasing; further recognises that using munitions that leave a toxic legacy is particularly inappropriate in contemporary peacekeeping and humanitarian operations; is aware that CHARM3, the UK's only remaining operational DU round, is no longer manufactured and that its propellant charges are due to expire in 2013; further notes that the UK has options beyond re-licensing or re-developing the existing charge, or replacing the current ammunition with a new DU round; and calls on the Government to take this opportunity to cease using DU in its kinetic energy ammunition.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 63

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 63 out of 63

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 28.11.2011
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 24.11.2011
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 21.11.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 27.10.2011
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 28.11.2011
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 30.11.2011
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 08.12.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 01.11.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 27.10.2011
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 22.11.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 31.10.2011
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 08.12.2011
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 03.11.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 31.10.2011
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 01.12.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 01.11.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 31.10.2011
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 29.02.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 02.11.2011
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 20.12.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 01.11.2011
Gilbert, Stephen Liberal Democrats St Austell and Newquay 20.12.2011
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 08.12.2011
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 07.11.2011
Goldsmith, Zac Conservative Party Richmond Park 07.11.2011
Hames, Duncan Liberal Democrats Chippenham 18.01.2012
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 21.11.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 31.10.2011
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 29.11.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 31.10.2011
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 27.10.2011
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 30.01.2012
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats Bermondsey and Old Southwark 30.04.2012
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 14.11.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 01.11.2011
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 22.11.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 31.10.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 02.11.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 27.10.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 03.11.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 09.11.2011
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 10.01.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 31.10.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 22.11.2011
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 15.11.2011
Munt, Tessa Liberal Democrats Wells Somerset 21.11.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 02.11.2011
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 20.12.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 02.11.2011
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 27.10.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 07.02.2012
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 15.11.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 10.11.2011
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 06.02.2012
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 20.12.2011
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 14.12.2011
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 20.12.2011
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 12.12.2011
Whittaker, Craig Conservative Party Calder Valley 10.01.2012
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 31.10.2011
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 21.11.2011
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 28.11.2011
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 14.12.2011