Early day motion 2310

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises the critical importance of the presidential and parliamentary elections due to take place in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) on28 November 2011; calls on the UK Government and international community to act to help ensure the elections are free and fair; notes the commitment of successive UK Government administrations to supporting the democratic electoral process in the DRC and to working to eradicate levels of violence, particularly against women; further notes that there will be 62,000 polling stations for a population of over 71 million in a country the size of Western Europe and therefore calls on the international community, including the UK, USA and EU to send adequate numbers of impartial international election observers; further calls on all stakeholders to do more to deliver adequate impartial domestic and regional election observers; further recognises the importance of the elections in securing democracy in the DRC and the importance to regional stability that these elections are transparent and secure; and further calls on all political parties to respect the rule of law and conduct their campaign in a non-violent manner.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 18

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 18 out of 18

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 03.11.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 31.10.2011
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 01.12.2011
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 26.10.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 01.11.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 31.10.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 01.11.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 26.10.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 27.10.2011
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 14.11.2011
Joyce, Eric Labour Party Falkirk 26.10.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 31.10.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 27.10.2011
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 23.11.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 02.11.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 27.10.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 31.10.2011
White, Chris Conservative Party Warwick and Leamington 26.10.2011