Early day motion 2308

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes recent Department for Transport statistics which show that the number of people killedin road accidents fell by 16 per cent. from 2,222 in 2009 to 1,857 in 2010; notes that this is the lowest figure since national records began in 1926; believes that the annual MOT test plays an important role in ensuring Britain's roads are among the safest in the world; is opposed to any move to reduce the frequency of MOT tests which can only have the effect of increasing the number of defective and unsafe vehicles on the road, increasing accidents and deaths and increasing insurance premiums and the cost of repairs for the law-abiding motorist; and calls on the Government to rule out any weakening of the MOT system as part of its forthcoming review.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 44

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 44 out of 44

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 03.11.2011
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 01.11.2011
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 03.11.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 01.11.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 02.11.2011
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 31.10.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 31.10.2011
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 01.11.2011
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 01.11.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 27.10.2011
Eagle, Maria Labour Party Garston and Halewood 26.10.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 10.11.2011
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 26.10.2011
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 20.12.2011
Fitzpatrick, Jim Labour Party Poplar and Limehouse 26.10.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 02.11.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 31.10.2011
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 01.11.2011
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 03.11.2011
Hodgson, Sharon Labour Party Washington and Sunderland West 26.10.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 31.10.2011
Hunt, Tristram Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 26.10.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 27.10.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 31.10.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 31.10.2011
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 21.11.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 09.11.2011
McCarthy, Kerry Labour Party Bristol East 26.10.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 01.11.2011
McKenzie, Iain Labour Party Inverclyde 08.11.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 27.10.2011
Nash, Pamela Labour Party Airdrie and Shotts 26.10.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 02.11.2011
Reynolds, Emma Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 24.11.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 26.10.2011
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 31.10.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 27.10.2011
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 27.10.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 31.10.2011
Smith, Nick Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 01.11.2011
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 26.10.2011
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 02.11.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 31.10.2011
Woodcock, John Labour Party Barrow and Furness 26.10.2011