Early day motion 2285

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the finalreport by the Business, Innovation and Skills Committee on Pub Companies (Tenth Report of Session 2010-12, HC 1369-I), which found that industry self-regulation has failed and therefore called for the introduction of a statutory code of practicefor pub companies including that over a period of time all new lessees should be offered a free of tie lease with an open market rent review based on Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors' guidance; supports the Committee's call for a code adjudicator; notes the Government's commitment to legislate to reform in line with the previous Government's plan announced in March 2010; further notes that nearly twice as many tied pubs are closingas free of tie pubs; believes that reforms recommended by the Select Committee, together with a guest beer option for lessees who choose to remain tied, will help prevent the closure of further valued community pubs by making rents fairer and allowing tied licensees to buy beer and other products on the open market at competitive prices, which will allow many more pubs to succeed and thrive, which will assistwith economic growth; further believes that these reforms will revitalise and rejuvenate the sector and promote entrepreneurship through more diverse ownership; and calls on the Government to act on the Select Committee's recommendations and announce a timetable for the consultation as quickly as possible on how it intends to implement the reforms.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 40

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 40 out of 40

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 10.01.2012
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 31.10.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 19.10.2011
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 19.10.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 19.10.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 21.11.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 31.10.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 20.10.2011
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 19.10.2011
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 19.10.2011
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 19.10.2011
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 19.10.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 20.10.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 25.10.2011
Goggins, Paul Labour Party Wythenshawe and Sale East 15.11.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 19.10.2011
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 19.10.2011
Healey, John Labour Party Wentworth and Dearne 25.10.2011
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 19.10.2011
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 10.01.2012
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 19.10.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 19.10.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 09.11.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 20.10.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 20.10.2011
Mordaunt, Penny Conservative Party Portsmouth North 21.11.2011
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 07.11.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 22.11.2011
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 19.10.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 19.10.2011
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 24.10.2011
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 20.10.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 25.10.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 20.10.2011
Stephenson, Andrew Conservative Party Pendle 19.10.2011
Tredinnick, David Conservative Party Bosworth 27.10.2011
Walker, Robin Conservative Party Worcester 19.10.2011
Weatherley, Mike Conservative Party Hove 25.10.2011
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 19.10.2011
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 07.11.2011