Early day motion 2273

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House calls on the Government to bring forward legislative proposals for the mandatory installation of CCTV in UK slaughterhouses; expresses concern that eight of the nine slaughterhouses secretly filmed by Animal Aid have breached the law, a failure rate of 89 per cent.; is disappointed with the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs' decision not to prosecute when evidence of animal welfare abuses are secretly recorded; believes that the introduction of compulsory CCTV in UK slaughterhouses will increase animal protection and allow those caught on film breaking the law to be prosecuted; welcomes the support of the Food Standards Agency (FSA)for the use of CCTV in slaughterhouses as a useful monitoring tool; notes that plant operators who operate CCTV are keen to demonstrate to FSA officials the high standard to which their operatives work; and furtherbelieves other UK slaughterhouses should follow this best practice to maintain the UK's position as a world leader on animal welfare standards.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 96

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 96 out of 96

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Allen, Graham Labour Party Nottingham North 22.11.2011
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 24.11.2011
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 26.10.2011
Banks, Gordon Labour Party Ochil and South Perthshire 09.11.2011
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 07.11.2011
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 28.11.2011
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 10.11.2011
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 16.01.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 18.10.2011
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 10.01.2012
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 12.12.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 19.10.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 19.10.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 29.11.2011
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 18.10.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 21.11.2011
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 09.11.2011
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham and Rainham 06.12.2011
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 15.11.2011
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 18.10.2011
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 02.11.2011
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 22.11.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 19.10.2011
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 10.11.2011
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 22.11.2011
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 15.12.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 18.10.2011
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 21.11.2011
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 22.03.2012
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 07.11.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 14.11.2011
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 25.11.2011
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 18.10.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 10.01.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 14.11.2011
Goggins, Paul Labour Party Wythenshawe and Sale East 05.03.2012
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 07.03.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 25.10.2011
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 01.11.2011
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 05.12.2011
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 10.11.2011
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 25.04.2012
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 19.04.2012
Hodge, Margaret Labour Party Barking 01.03.2012
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 10.11.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 19.10.2011
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 20.01.2012
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 09.03.2012
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 08.02.2012
Kirby, Simon Conservative Party Brighton Kemptown 11.01.2012
Knight, Greg Conservative Party Yorkshire East 20.10.2011
Laing, Eleanor Conservative Party Epping Forest 05.12.2011
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 28.11.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 24.10.2011
Leslie, Charlotte Conservative Party Bristol North West 09.11.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 20.10.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 24.10.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 09.11.2011
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 30.11.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 19.10.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 27.10.2011
McKechin, Ann Labour Party Glasgow North 23.11.2011
McKenzie, Iain Labour Party Inverclyde 01.12.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 19.10.2011
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 18.10.2011
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 18.04.2012
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 07.11.2011
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 18.10.2011
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 23.02.2012
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 21.11.2011
Munt, Tessa Liberal Democrats Wells Somerset 10.11.2011
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 01.12.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 25.10.2011
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 01.03.2012
Parish, Neil Conservative Party Tiverton and Honiton 14.11.2011
Reevell, Simon Conservative Party Dewsbury 03.11.2011
Roy, Frank Labour Party Motherwell and Wishaw 23.02.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 14.03.2012
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 19.04.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 18.10.2011
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 20.10.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 26.10.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 20.10.2011
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 30.11.2011
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 20.02.2012
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 10.11.2011
Turner, Karl Labour Party Kingston upon Hull East 18.10.2011
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 10.01.2012
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 08.11.2011
Weatherley, Mike Conservative Party Hove 08.11.2011
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 22.11.2011
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 19.10.2011
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 15.11.2011
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 14.11.2011
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 14.11.2011
Wright, Simon Liberal Democrats Norwich South 12.12.2011