Early day motion 2256

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses concern at the continuing global practice of rhino poaching by crime syndicates and at the almost daily killing of these animals; notes that this practice is particularly prevalent in South Africa and Zimbabwe; further notes that almost 200 of these highly endangered animals were killed in South Africa alone in the first half of 2011 and killings this year are expected to exceed the 2010 figure of 333; expresses deep concern at the suffering faced by the animals during hunts by poachers; further notes that this poaching is fuelled by demand for rhino horn in traditional medicine markets in Asia; and calls on the Government to work with Asian and African nations to tackle this crime and enforce a global ban on rhino horn use in medicines.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 48

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 48 out of 48

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 26.10.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 18.10.2011
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 18.10.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 18.10.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 17.10.2011
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 31.10.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 18.10.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 18.10.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 19.10.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 17.10.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 18.10.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 17.10.2011
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 31.10.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 25.10.2011
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 25.10.2011
Goldsmith, Zac Conservative Party Richmond Park 17.10.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 17.10.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 19.10.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 19.10.2011
Hunt, Tristram Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 02.11.2011
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 20.02.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 19.10.2011
Jamieson, Cathy Labour Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 17.10.2011
Knight, Greg Conservative Party Yorkshire East 20.10.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 17.10.2011
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 20.10.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 19.10.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 24.10.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 17.10.2011
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 20.10.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 17.10.2011
McKenzie, Iain Labour Party Inverclyde 17.10.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 18.10.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 17.10.2011
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 17.10.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 18.10.2011
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 18.10.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 17.10.2011
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 18.10.2011
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 18.10.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 25.10.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 19.10.2011
Tredinnick, David Conservative Party Bosworth 27.10.2011
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 26.10.2011
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 19.10.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 31.10.2011
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 07.11.2011
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 19.10.2011