Early day motion 2223

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House applauds the members and representatives of the Union of Shop, Distributive and Allied Workers (USDAW) for their Freedom From Fear Campaign, which seeks to bring together employers, police and local authorities to tackle violence, threats and abuse against shopworkers; is appalled that every minute of every day another shopworker is assaulted, threatened or abused during the course of their duties; welcomes the decrease in incidents against shopworkers, which arenow less than half 2004 levels, as recorded by the British Retail Consortium's Annual Retail Crime Survey; is concerned, however, that the Government's unprecedented cut in police funding could result in the loss of 16,000 frontline officers; is further concerned about the effect these cuts will have on the safety of all workers, with around 80 per cent. of workers having public-facing jobs which, to varying degrees, can lead to incidents of violence, threats and abuse; reminds the Government thatits first duty is to keep the people of the UK safe; and therefore calls on the Government to ensure that frontline policing remains effective, that the police have sufficient resources to do their job and to ensure that crime continues to fall as it did under the previous administration.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 67

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 67 out of 67

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 18.10.2011
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 17.10.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 11.10.2011
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 17.10.2011
Campbell, Alan Labour Party Tynemouth 17.10.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 12.10.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.10.2011
Coffey, Ann Labour Party Stockport 11.10.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 17.10.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 13.10.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 18.10.2011
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 17.10.2011
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 12.10.2011
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 25.10.2011
Danczuk, Simon Labour Party Rochdale 17.10.2011
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 21.10.2011
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 17.10.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 12.10.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 19.10.2011
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 19.10.2011
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 17.10.2011
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 17.10.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 13.10.2011
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 25.10.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 17.10.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 11.10.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 17.10.2011
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 17.10.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 12.10.2011
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 28.11.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 19.10.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 13.10.2011
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 24.10.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 13.10.2011
James, Sian C Labour Party Swansea East 17.10.2011
Jones, Kevan Labour Party North Durham 17.10.2011
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 17.10.2011
Keeley, Barbara Labour Party Worsley and Eccles South 17.10.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 17.10.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 19.10.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 18.10.2011
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 17.10.2011
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 17.10.2011
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 17.10.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 18.10.2011
McDonagh, Siobhain Labour Party Mitcham and Morden 17.10.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.10.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 17.10.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 17.10.2011
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 17.10.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 07.11.2011
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 17.10.2011
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 18.10.2011
Perkins, Toby Labour Party Chesterfield 17.10.2011
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 13.10.2011
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 29.11.2011
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 18.10.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 18.10.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 18.10.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 17.10.2011
Smith, Nick Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 17.10.2011
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 17.10.2011
Thomas, Gareth (Harrow West) Labour Party Harrow West 17.10.2011
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 10.11.2011
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 20.10.2011
Woodward, Shaun Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 31.10.2011
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 17.10.2011