Early day motion 2215

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House supports the signing of an Economic Co-operation Agreement between the EU and Taiwan; notes the rapprochement between the two governments across the Taiwan Strait, which has so far led to the signing of 15 mutual agreements, including the Economic Co-operation Framework Agreement (ECFA), which reduces the trade barriers of mainland China's market to products of Taiwanese origin and vice versa; acknowledges that the expansion of cross-strait economic relations is in the interest of those on both sides and of the EU; recognises that Taiwan achieved 10.88 per cent. GDP growth in 2010, is the EU's 14th largest trading partner globally and its 6th largest trading partner in Asia, with total trade volume of 37 billion; observes that Taiwan's high-tech industry, economic growth and expanding trade provide a mutually beneficial opportunity for co-operation between the EU and Taiwan; commends the fact that the European Parliament unanimously passed a resolution on 11 May 2011 supporting the further strengthening of Taiwan-EU trade and economic ties and the signing of a bilateral economic co-operation agreement; and calls on the Government to encourage the EU to conduct negotiations with Taiwan with the goal of agreeing a Taiwan-EU Economic Co-operation Agreement.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 14

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 14 out of 14

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 10.10.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 11.10.2011
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 01.11.2011
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 31.10.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 20.02.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 10.10.2011
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 02.11.2011
Hancock, Mike [R] Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 10.10.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 19.10.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 18.10.2011
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 17.10.2011
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 10.10.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 11.10.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 12.10.2011