Early day motion 2214

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House regrets that summer season2011 might see the last sailing of the paddle steamer Waverley; notes that the Waverley is the only such British vessel that has been preserved and still continues with its original function; recognises that it is the last ocean-going paddle steamer in the world; understands that an increase in the price of oil means that fuel now costs the Waverley 5,000 each day; welcomes the Waverley Appeal, launched by the Waverley Steam Navigation Co Ltd to keep the ship sailing; congratulates the campaigners on raising more than 140,000 towards their 350,000 target; encourages everyone to get behind the campaign; understands that, in July 2011 alone, the steamer had 32,500 passengers; further recognises the economic contribution that the Waverley and her passengers make to the many towns at which she berths on her regular excursions around the Firth of Clyde from the Glasgow Science Centre quay, as well as on her visits to many other ports around the British coast and her cruises under Tower Bridge; and hopes that the Waverley will still be sailing to celebrate the 200th anniversary of steam navigation on the Clyde next year.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 27

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 27 out of 27

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 18.10.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 11.10.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 12.10.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.10.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 11.10.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 11.10.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 11.10.2011
Drax, Richard Conservative Party South Dorset 10.10.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 13.10.2011
Gray, James Conservative Party North Wiltshire 12.10.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 10.10.2011
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 13.10.2011
Jones, Marcus Conservative Party Nuneaton 11.10.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 24.10.2011
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 11.10.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.10.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 17.10.2011
McKenzie, Iain Labour Party Inverclyde 10.10.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 17.10.2011
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 24.10.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 10.10.2011
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 13.10.2011
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 10.10.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 19.10.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 18.10.2011
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 13.10.2011
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 12.10.2011