Early day motion 2206

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned about the implications for the criminal justice system of the closure of the Forensic Science Service; notes warnings from the Metropolitan Police and the Forensic Institute that the closure may lead to expert scientists and case files being unavailable for court hearings; further notes that the Forensic Science Service estimates that around 90 per cent. of the staff who have already been made redundant have left the forensic profession completely; and calls on the Government to recognise the value of the scientific expertise, research and development carried out by the Forensic Science Service and to rethink the closure in order to safeguard the informed and effective course of justice.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 35

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 35 out of 35

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 18.10.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 11.10.2011
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 21.10.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.10.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 11.10.2011
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 31.10.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 11.10.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 18.10.2011
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 17.10.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 11.10.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 02.11.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 13.10.2011
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 25.10.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 20.10.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 12.10.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 11.10.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.10.2011
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 24.10.2011
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 14.11.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 13.10.2011
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 18.10.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 24.10.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 19.10.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 18.10.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.10.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 17.10.2011
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 18.10.2011
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 13.10.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 19.10.2011
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 20.10.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 12.10.2011
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 11.10.2011
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 19.10.2011
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 10.10.2011
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 21.10.2011