Early day motion 2190

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the provision in Kenya's new constitution for one third of members of the Kenyan parliament to be women; expresses support for the Kenyan women fighting to ensure this provision is implemented and congratulates them on their work to ensure the inclusion of chapter four which guarantees equality of opportunity for men and women; underlines that only 10 per cent. of MPs in Kenya are women and, ahead of the 2012 elections, further underlines the opportunity this constitutional provision represents; calls on the UK Government to back the demands of the women in Kenya and help them achieve greater political representation; pays tribute to the vital work of UN Women in Kenya; is concerned that women and girls face particular problems including illiteracy, death in childbirth, discriminationand female genital mutilation, which is why it is important to ensure women have greater representation in parliament; and calls on the UK Government to ensure that UK aid contributes to women's empowerment.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 28

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 28 out of 28

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ali, Rushanara Labour Party Bethnal Green and Bow 15.09.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 10.10.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.10.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 11.10.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 10.10.2011
Curran, Margaret Labour Party Glasgow East 15.09.2011
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 10.10.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 10.10.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 10.10.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 13.10.2011
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 10.10.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 15.09.2011
Harman, Harriet Labour Party Camberwell and Peckham 15.09.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 11.10.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 10.10.2011
Jamieson, Cathy Labour Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 15.09.2011
Jones, Susan Elan Labour Party Clwyd South 10.10.2011
Jowell, Tessa Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 24.10.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 10.10.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.10.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 17.10.2011
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 10.10.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 15.09.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 12.10.2011
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 15.09.2011
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 15.09.2011
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 10.10.2011
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 12.10.2011