Early day motion 2185

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this Housewelcomes the extension of musicians' copyright term from 50 to 70 years agreed by the EU on 12 September 2011; believes that this will bring a fairer reward to many thousands of recording artists, including session musicians, backing singers and orchestral players, who will benefit from a longer copyright term, a substantial new fund for session musicians from record company revenues, a requirement for labels to make sure all recordings are made available through original recording labels, or for release by the musicians independently, and the writing off of any unrecovered advances so that musicians receive full royalties in the extended term; and thanks the 38,000 musicians across Europe (including 6,000 in the UK) who signed the petition which helped to secure this successful outcome to a campaign supported by PPL, the Musicians Union and by a number of Members of both Houses of Parliament on an all-party basis.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 33

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 33 out of 33

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 10.10.2011
Brennan, Kevin Labour Party Cardiff West 14.09.2011
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 14.09.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.10.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 11.10.2011
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 14.09.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 14.09.2011
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 10.10.2011
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 14.09.2011
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 18.10.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 10.10.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 15.09.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 13.10.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 11.10.2011
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 17.10.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 14.09.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 15.09.2011
Jamieson, Cathy Labour Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 15.09.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 10.10.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 15.09.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 17.10.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 15.09.2011
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 10.10.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 12.10.2011
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 14.09.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 15.09.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 19.10.2011
Sarwar, Anas Labour Party Glasgow Central 14.09.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 15.09.2011
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 11.10.2011
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 14.09.2011
Whittingdale, John Conservative Party Maldon 14.09.2011
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 14.09.2011