Early day motion 2182

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates all involved over the past 50 years with Songs of Praise on BBC Television; notes that the first programme was broadcast on 1 October 1961 from the Tabernacl Baptist Chapel in Cardiff and that the 50th Anniversary programme will be broadcast from Alexandra Palace, London, on 2 October2011; registers with admiration that it is one of the longest-running television programmes in the world; pays tribute to the team behind each week's production and observes that some 200 people have presented it during the last five decades; records with acclaim that Songs of Praise has for 50 years beena familiar and much-loved part of the nation's television viewing, with more than 1,800 congregations involved in productions in cathedrals, churches, chapels and iconic settings throughout the UK and some overseas; and looks forward to many more years of programmes providing a unique blend of vibrant hymn-singing and uplifting human stories broadcast from beautiful locations around the British Isles.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 24

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 24 out of 24

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 10.10.2011
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 12.10.2011
Crouch, Tracey Conservative Party Chatham and Aylesford 14.09.2011
Curran, Margaret Labour Party Glasgow East 14.09.2011
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 10.10.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 19.10.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 13.10.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 15.09.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 11.10.2011
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 14.09.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 10.10.2011
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 11.10.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 18.10.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 15.09.2011
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 13.10.2011
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 10.10.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 19.10.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 14.09.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 14.09.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 12.10.2011
Stephenson, Andrew Conservative Party Pendle 11.10.2011
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 17.10.2011
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 12.10.2011
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 14.09.2011