Early day motion 2170

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises that surcharges are a major problem for UK consumers; notes the Office of Fair Trading's recent estimate that British airline passengers alone are made to spend 300 million per annum in payment method surcharges; commends the consumer organisation Which? for launching a major campaign against card surcharges; calls on HM Treasury to protect consumers from such unfair practices by implementing Article 52(3) of existing legislation (the Payment Services Directive) which can stop such charges beinglevied from credit cards; and furthercalls on the Government to support the Which? campaign by taking immediate regulatory action on behalf of UK customers who otherwise may be cheated.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 40

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 40 out of 40

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 13.10.2011
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 15.09.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 14.09.2011
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 14.09.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 13.09.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.10.2011
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 10.10.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 14.09.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 15.09.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 19.10.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 10.10.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 13.10.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 14.09.2011
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 12.10.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 14.09.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 15.09.2011
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 17.10.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 15.09.2011
Jamieson, Cathy Labour Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 15.09.2011
Knight, Greg Conservative Party Yorkshire East 11.10.2011
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 13.09.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 10.10.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 14.09.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 15.09.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 18.10.2011
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 15.09.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.09.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 10.10.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 13.09.2011
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 10.10.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 24.10.2011
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 13.09.2011
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 13.10.2011
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 14.09.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 12.10.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 15.09.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 19.10.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 13.09.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 12.10.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 10.10.2011