Early day motion 2131

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that next year will be the hundredth anniversary of the birth of Gwynfor Evans of Barry, who was voted the fourth most important Welsh hero of the last millennium in a National Assembly of Wales poll; further notes that Gwynfor was a Christian and a pacifist who campaigned peacefully for his beliefs including against the drowning of Tryweryn in the 1950s and for a Welsh language television station in the 1970s and 1980s; recognises that he was Plaid Cymru's first Member of Parliament and represented opinion across Wales which had never before been represented in the House of Commons; further notes that his bust was unveiled by local dignitaries and sits proudly in Barry Library, the town's seat of learning, and that his former home in the town has a Pride in Barry plaque to indicate the significance of the house in which he was raised; further notes the practice of naming establishments after relevant famous people connected with locations and subjects, such as Ysbyty Aneurin Bevan Hospital in Ebbw Vale; and believes it both fitting and appropriate on this anniverary for a Welsh language school to be named Ysgol Gymraeg Gwynfor in the town in which Gwynfor Evans was raised.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 10

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 10 out of 10

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 07.09.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 05.09.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 13.09.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 05.09.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 06.09.2011
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 07.09.2011
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 10.10.2011
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 07.09.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 05.09.2011
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 27.10.2011