Early day motion 2084

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House looks forward to the TUC Tolpuddle Martyrs' Festival on 15 to 17 July 2011; is shocked to learn that Maureen Lum, a grandmother and trade unionist from Australia, has been deported because her long-planned holiday in the UK included an hour's singing with the amateur Tasmanian Grass Roots choir at the Tolpuddle Festival; notes the irony that the choir sing songs re-telling the story of the six martyrs whose decision to form a union led to their transportation to Australia; believes this shameful incident highlights the ridiculous rules that require amateur performers to have a formal entertainment visa to enter the UK; and calls for an urgent review by the Home Office into these regulations.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 53

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 53 out of 53

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ashworth, Jonathan Labour Party Leicester South 14.07.2011
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 13.07.2011
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 19.07.2011
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 13.07.2011
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 13.07.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 18.07.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 13.07.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 13.07.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 14.07.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 18.07.2011
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham and Rainham 13.07.2011
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 14.07.2011
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 14.07.2011
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 14.07.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 20.07.2011
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 20.07.2011
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 13.07.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 18.07.2011
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 11.08.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 20.07.2011
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 13.07.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 13.07.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 18.07.2011
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 13.07.2011
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 13.07.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 14.07.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 18.07.2011
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 13.07.2011
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 18.07.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 18.07.2011
Jamieson, Cathy Labour Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 13.07.2011
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 13.07.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 18.07.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 13.07.2011
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 13.07.2011
McCarthy, Kerry Labour Party Bristol East 20.07.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.07.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 13.07.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 14.07.2011
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 13.07.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 13.07.2011
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 13.07.2011
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 20.07.2011
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 11.10.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 11.08.2011
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 13.07.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 14.07.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 13.07.2011
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 18.07.2011
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 18.07.2011
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 13.07.2011
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 13.07.2011
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 13.07.2011