Early day motion 2074

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern research carried out at the Medical Research Council's laboratory of Molecular Biology in Cambridge, which has concluded that alcohol damages DNA and can cause permanent genetic damage to unborn children; is aware that binge drinking by young women is widespread and that Britain also has one of the highest rates of teenage pregnancy in the developed world with such pregnancies often associated with alcohol consumption; believes therefore that many genetically damaged babies are being born in Britain each year, which is tragic for those children and for their families but also a growing problem for wider society; draws specific attention to comments made by Dr Ketan Patel who led the research that shows foetal alcohol syndrome leads to birth defects and learning difficulties;considers that mild exhortations to pregnant women to drink sensibly are wholly inadequate to address the problem; and calls on the Government to bring forward serious and effective measures to counter these behaviours as a matter of urgency and end this ongoing tragedy.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 42

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 42 out of 42

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Alexander, Heidi Labour Party Lewisham East 12.07.2011
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 14.07.2011
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 13.07.2011
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 12.07.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 18.07.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 13.07.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 13.07.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 05.09.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 13.07.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 18.07.2011
Crouch, Tracey Conservative Party Chatham and Aylesford 13.07.2011
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 12.07.2011
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 12.07.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 13.07.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 19.07.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 18.07.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 12.07.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 20.07.2011
Fovargue, Yvonne Labour Party Makerfield 12.07.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 18.07.2011
Halfon, Robert Conservative Party Harlow 12.07.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 13.07.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 14.09.2011
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 18.07.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.07.2011
Jamieson, Cathy Labour Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 14.07.2011
Jones, Susan Elan Labour Party Clwyd South 12.07.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 14.07.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 19.07.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.07.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 13.07.2011
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 12.07.2011
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 12.07.2011
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 20.07.2011
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 11.10.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 19.07.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 13.07.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 11.08.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 12.07.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 13.07.2011
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 12.07.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 14.07.2011