Early day motion 2065

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the success of the 36 independent candidates of the Labour, Democracy and Freedom block supported by the Kurdish population in the Turkish general election on 12 June 2011; deplores the fact that Hatip Dicle, whose candidature was approved by the country's Supreme Election Board, the YSK, has been hastily revoked by the same body; expresses its solidarity with Dicle and his fellow MPs who are now boycotting the assembly in protest; calls on theGovernment to make representations to the Turkish government to avert the emerging political crisis and enable the duly elected MPs to take up their seats; and believes that the real solution to the current deadlock lies in the opening up of a dialogue for peace between the government in Ankara and the true representatives of the Kurdish people.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 9

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 9 out of 9

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 11.08.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 13.07.2011
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 14.09.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 13.07.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.07.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 13.07.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 12.07.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 13.07.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 12.07.2011