Early day motion 2059

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the commitment given by the Prime Minister in Derby earlier in 2011 that his administration would support local manufacturing jobs; is therefore dismayed and appalled at the implications for UK manufacturing of the Government's decision to make Siemens of Germany the preferred bidder for the 1.4 billion Thameslink rolling stock contract and to reject the bid from Bombardier of Derby; is alarmed that this decision has already led to the announcement of over 1,400 job losses at Bombardier and also threatens at least a further 12,000 jobs in the UK supply chain; is further concerned that the decision could adversely impact on the prospect of a UK-based train manufacturer bidding to supply trains for Crossrail or for high speed rail; supports Bombardier's rejection of the Department for Transport's claim that jobs at the company were under threat irrespective of the destination of the Thameslink contract; acknowledges that EU competition law has not dissuaded the German or French administrations from awarding 100 per cent. of their lucrative domestic rail contracts to domestic bidders; further notes that the contract is still at preferred bidder stage; and calls on the Governmentimmediately to review this decision to take into account the value for money implications of the loss of tens of thousands of UK jobs.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 69

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 69 out of 69

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ashworth, Jonathan Labour Party Leicester South 13.07.2011
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 14.07.2011
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 19.07.2011
Binley, Brian Conservative Party Northampton South 14.12.2011
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 13.07.2011
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 20.07.2011
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 25.11.2011
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 19.07.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 13.07.2011
Cash, William Conservative Party Stone 10.11.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 13.07.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 19.07.2011
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 14.11.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 05.09.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 13.07.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 18.07.2011
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 11.08.2011
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 18.07.2011
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 18.07.2011
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 07.09.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 12.07.2011
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 19.07.2011
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 11.08.2011
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 11.08.2011
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 11.08.2011
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 07.09.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 12.07.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 12.07.2011
Gilbert, Stephen Liberal Democrats St Austell and Newquay 19.10.2011
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 06.09.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 14.07.2011
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 20.10.2011
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 08.09.2011
Gwynne, Andrew Labour Party Denton and Reddish 12.07.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 13.07.2011
Harman, Harriet Labour Party Camberwell and Peckham 14.09.2011
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 07.09.2011
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 11.10.2011
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 18.07.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.07.2011
Hunt, Tristram Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 22.11.2011
Jamieson, Cathy Labour Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 13.07.2011
Jarvis, Dan Labour Party Barnsley Central 07.09.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 14.07.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 19.07.2011
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 14.07.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 15.09.2011
McDonnell, John [R] Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.07.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 11.08.2011
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 06.12.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 12.07.2011
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 08.09.2011
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 17.10.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 12.07.2011
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 18.07.2011
Perkins, Toby Labour Party Chesterfield 06.09.2011
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 20.07.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 13.07.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 11.08.2011
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 10.10.2011
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 11.08.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 11.07.2011
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 10.10.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 14.07.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 12.07.2011
Smith, Nick Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 07.09.2011
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 19.07.2011
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 08.09.2011
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 11.07.2011