Early day motion 2055

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates the people of South Sudan on their independence; recognises this is a great moment of optimism and hope for South Sudan; acknowledges the huge challenges that lie ahead including the highest rate of maternal deaths in the world, non-existent infrastructure, an illiteracy rate of 92 per cent. among women and one in seven children dying before the age of five; calls on the Governmentto workwith other donors to set out a programme of long-term support for South Sudan and to work effectively together to help build the capacity of the South Sudanese government to meet the needs of its people, to provide significant support to the health system in South Sudan and to increase access to justice; and further calls on the Government and the international community to help resolve pressing issues between North and South Sudan, including citizenship rights, finance and above all the sharing of oil, including prioritising a lasting solution to the dispute over Abyei and South Kordofan.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 51

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 51 out of 51

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ali, Rushanara Labour Party Bethnal Green and Bow 11.07.2011
Ashworth, Jonathan Labour Party Leicester South 14.07.2011
Baldry, Tony Conservative Party Banbury 12.07.2011
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 14.07.2011
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 18.07.2011
Benn, Hilary Labour Party Leeds Central 12.07.2011
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 13.07.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 18.07.2011
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 14.07.2011
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 11.07.2011
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 19.07.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 13.07.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 18.07.2011
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 11.07.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 13.07.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 18.07.2011
Curran, Margaret Labour Party Glasgow East 13.07.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 19.07.2011
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 14.07.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 12.07.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 12.07.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 12.07.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 13.07.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 12.07.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 11.07.2011
Harman, Harriet Labour Party Camberwell and Peckham 11.07.2011
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 18.07.2011
Hendrick, Mark Labour Party Preston 18.07.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.07.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 12.07.2011
Jamieson, Cathy Labour Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 13.07.2011
Jarvis, Dan Labour Party Barnsley Central 18.07.2011
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 11.07.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 14.07.2011
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 19.07.2011
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 14.07.2011
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 14.07.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.07.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 12.07.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 13.07.2011
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 20.07.2011
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 20.07.2011
Reynolds, Emma Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 13.07.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 12.07.2011
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 11.08.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 11.07.2011
Sarwar, Anas Labour Party Glasgow Central 13.07.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 13.07.2011
Twigg, Stephen Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 11.07.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 12.07.2011
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 13.07.2011