Early day motion 2054

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House condemns the sacking of over 200 journalists and staff at the News of the World (NotW); supports the National Union of Journalists inits campaign to help journalists facing compulsory redundancy at the NotW; believes that shutting the NotW is an act of political opportunism by News International (NI); notes that the Chief Executive of NI, Rebekah Brooks, was Editor of theNotW at a time when alleged hacking of mobile telephones was underway; calls for a full public investigation into the apparent systematic abuses at the top of the operation run by both Rebekah Brooks and Andy Coulson; and welcomes the referral to the Competition Commission of the takeover of BSkyB by News Corporation.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 26

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 26 out of 26

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 13.07.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 13.07.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 11.07.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 13.07.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 18.07.2011
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 13.07.2011
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 13.07.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 12.07.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 12.07.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 12.07.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 14.07.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.07.2011
Jamieson, Cathy Labour Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 13.07.2011
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 14.07.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 11.07.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 12.07.2011
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 13.07.2011
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 11.07.2011
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 13.07.2011
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 11.07.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 20.07.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 11.08.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 11.07.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 14.07.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 12.07.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 11.07.2011