Early day motion 205

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recalls the continuous interest of hon. Members on all sides of the House in successive Parliaments in the neglect and dereliction of Varosha, the sealed-off section of Famagusta; is confident that this interest will be continued in the present Parliament; notes the recent interest of the European Parliament in this situation as expressed in its resolution following the visit to the area of the Petitions Committee in which, inter alia, it expresses the view that with the return of Varosha to its original and lawful inhabitants it could become a laboratory development and a symbol of the future of Cyprus; concurs with this judgment; believes also that the project of reconstructing and regenerating Varosha could deliver an unparalleled stimulus to the economy in the north and in the south of Cyprus; further believes that this action would provide a major confidence-building measure for which there is an overwhelming need and which would underpin the future of a reunited Cyprus; and calls on the Government fully and urgently to support and promote such an initiative.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 15

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 15 out of 15

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 10.06.2010
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 10.06.2010
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 16.06.2010
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 14.06.2010
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 29.06.2010
Flello, Robert Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 07.07.2010
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 14.06.2010
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 23.06.2010
Hancock, Mike [R] Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 16.06.2010
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 14.06.2010
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 14.06.2010
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 29.06.2010
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 10.06.2010
Perkins, Toby Labour Party Chesterfield 12.07.2010
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 14.06.2010