Early day motion 2048

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House believes that the voting age for elections to the House of Commons and any elected Second Chamber should be reduced to 16 years, following the example in Jersey, Guernsey, the Isle of Man, Austria, Brazil and state level elections in Germany; and further believes that young people already have significant rights and responsibilities at 16 and 17 years and should be able to have their say in choosing the politicians who make decisions about their lives.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 48

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 48 out of 48

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Alexander, Heidi Labour Party Lewisham East 11.10.2011
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 13.07.2011
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 11.08.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 18.07.2011
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 15.09.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 13.07.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 05.09.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 13.07.2011
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 18.07.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 12.07.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 12.07.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 07.07.2011
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 07.07.2011
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 10.10.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 12.07.2011
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 13.09.2011
Fovargue, Yvonne Labour Party Makerfield 05.09.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 12.07.2011
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 14.09.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 11.07.2011
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 05.09.2011
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 08.09.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 11.07.2011
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 18.07.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.07.2011
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 14.09.2011
Jarvis, Dan Labour Party Barnsley Central 05.09.2011
Jones, Susan Elan Labour Party Clwyd South 12.07.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 14.07.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 13.07.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 07.07.2011
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 14.07.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 11.07.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 12.07.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 07.09.2011
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 13.09.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 20.07.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 11.08.2011
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 14.09.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 13.09.2011
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 12.07.2011
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 10.10.2011
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 12.10.2011
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 07.07.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 12.07.2011
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 12.07.2011
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 07.07.2011
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 17.10.2011