Early day motion 2042

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House believes the judicial position of the Chief Coroner would provide much needed national leadership for the coroners system, significantly improve the experience of bereaved families and operate a new appeals process; notes the support for a Chief Coroner from charities and organisations including the Royal British Legion (RBL), INQUEST, Victim Support and CRY; further notes that the RBL has stated that the Government's alternative proposals will fail to meet the needs of bereaved armed forces families and that the creation of the Chief Coroner is essential to improving bereaved armed forces families' experience of military inquests; and therefore calls on the Government to support bereaved families by leaving the Chief Coroner out of the Public Bodies Bill.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 73

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 73 out of 73

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abrahams, Debbie Labour Party Oldham East and Saddleworth 31.10.2011
Ainsworth, Bob Labour Party Coventry North East 11.07.2011
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 03.11.2011
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 14.07.2011
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 11.07.2011
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 19.10.2011
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 07.07.2011
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 07.07.2011
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 07.07.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 18.07.2011
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 12.07.2011
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 13.07.2011
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 08.12.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 17.10.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 13.07.2011
Chapman, Jenny Labour Party Darlington 10.10.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 13.07.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 05.09.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 13.07.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 07.07.2011
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 07.07.2011
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 07.07.2011
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 13.07.2011
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 06.07.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 12.07.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 19.07.2011
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 18.07.2011
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 07.07.2011
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 11.07.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 06.07.2011
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 07.07.2011
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 07.07.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 12.07.2011
Fovargue, Yvonne Labour Party Makerfield 07.07.2011
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 07.07.2011
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 14.09.2011
Goggins, Paul Labour Party Wythenshawe and Sale East 07.07.2011
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 06.07.2011
Harris, Tom Labour Party Glasgow South 25.10.2011
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 07.07.2011
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 06.07.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 07.07.2011
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 12.07.2011
Hunt, Tristram Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 22.11.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 11.07.2011
Jones, Susan Elan Labour Party Clwyd South 07.07.2011
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 07.07.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 20.10.2011
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 14.07.2011
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 13.07.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 12.07.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 11.07.2011
McGuire, Anne Labour Party Stirling 19.10.2011
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 07.07.2011
Michael, Alun Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 07.07.2011
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 08.11.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 13.07.2011
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 11.07.2011
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 07.07.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 07.07.2011
Percy, Andrew Conservative Party Brigg and Goole 06.07.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 20.07.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 07.07.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 11.07.2011
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 11.08.2011
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 07.07.2011
Seabeck, Alison Labour Party Plymouth Moor View 07.07.2011
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 13.07.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 07.07.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 11.07.2011
Vickers, Martin Conservative Party Cleethorpes 14.07.2011
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 20.10.2011
Wright, Iain Labour Party Hartlepool 07.07.2011