Early day motion 2023

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern that an estimated 3.5 million adults over 22 years are paid less than 7per hour; further notes that in 2008-09, over half of all children in poverty in the UK had at least one parent in work; further notes that low pay is closely associated with other social disadvantages including poor health, substandard housing and personal debt; welcomes the recently-announced 2011 living wage rates of 8.30 per hour in London and 7.20 per hour outside London; believes that increasing the wages of the low-paid makes good business sense as it reduces staff turnover and sickness-related absenteeism, whilst also benefiting the wider economy by boosting consumer spending and reducing the public cost of benefits and tax credits; therefore supports FairPensions' JustPay! campaign to encourage FTSE 100 companies to pay living wages to all UK staff and on-site contractors; congratulates those companies who have already responded to the campaign by committing to become living wage employers; and calls on other FTSE 100 companies to follow suit.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 67

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 67 out of 67

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 05.09.2011
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 20.07.2011
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 14.09.2011
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 13.07.2011
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 06.07.2011
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 20.07.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 06.07.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 05.07.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 11.08.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 12.07.2011
Creasy, Stella Labour Party Walthamstow 07.09.2011
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 04.07.2011
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham and Rainham 04.07.2011
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 07.07.2011
Danczuk, Simon Labour Party Rochdale 10.10.2011
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 11.07.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 07.07.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 19.07.2011
Dromey, Jack Labour Party Birmingham Erdington 12.07.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 04.07.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 05.07.2011
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 11.08.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 12.07.2011
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 11.08.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 05.07.2011
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 07.03.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 11.07.2011
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 11.08.2011
Hames, Duncan Liberal Democrats Chippenham 13.10.2011
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 11.08.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 04.07.2011
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 11.08.2011
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 18.07.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 05.07.2011
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 04.07.2011
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 04.07.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 13.07.2011
Jamieson, Cathy Labour Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 05.07.2011
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 20.07.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 14.07.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 13.07.2011
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 12.07.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 04.07.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 04.07.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 11.08.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 04.07.2011
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 11.08.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 13.07.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 12.07.2011
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 11.10.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 06.07.2011
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 11.08.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 05.07.2011
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 11.08.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 04.07.2011
Sarwar, Anas Labour Party Glasgow Central 12.07.2011
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 13.07.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 05.07.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 18.07.2011
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 05.09.2011
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 11.08.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 12.07.2011
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 11.07.2011
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 14.07.2011
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 05.07.2011
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 22.11.2011
Wright, Simon Liberal Democrats Norwich South 05.09.2011