Early day motion 2011

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is aware that the disability living allowance mobility component helps meet the extra costs many disabled people face in their everyday lives; notes that for disabled people who live in residential care it provides support to pay for such items as a powered wheelchair, accessible taxis, or a mobility car; is alarmed that from March 2013 it is planned to be replaced by Personal Independence Payment which includes in itsremit the power to cease mobility components for disabled people having to live in this accommodation, the result being a saving of 160 million to the public purse, but at the cost of this action impacting massively on the daily lives of around 80,000 of society's most vulnerable people who will consequently find themselves unable to afford to leave their homes, thereby being denied the independence most able-bodied people take for granted; and calls on the Government to desist from such a journey which will not allow disabled people in residential care to live active independent lives.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 34

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 34 out of 34

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 04.07.2011
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 06.07.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 29.06.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 30.06.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 14.07.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 29.06.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 29.06.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 30.06.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 04.07.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 11.07.2011
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 11.08.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 11.08.2011
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 18.07.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 05.07.2011
Jamieson, Cathy Labour Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 05.07.2011
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 29.06.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 13.07.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 04.07.2011
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 05.07.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 05.07.2011
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 06.07.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 04.07.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 29.06.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 06.07.2011
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 13.07.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 06.07.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 05.07.2011
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 05.07.2011
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 13.07.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 29.06.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 04.07.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 04.07.2011
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 30.06.2011
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 07.07.2011