Early day motion 2009

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House condemns the use of violence to quash a peaceful demonstration by monks and lay people in Ngaba, Tibet that has resulted in the deaths of two elderly local residents; further condemns the cordoning off of the local Kirti monastery, the political re-education of its monks and the disappearance of 300 monks; also voices grave concern about the continued high level of troops in the area, effectively putting the town under martial law; and calls on the Prime Minister to make a public statement about this grave situation to reinforce the requests made by the EU China delegation for further information on the fate and whereabouts of the disappeared monks and for an independent representative to visit Ngaba to validate the current situation.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 28

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 28 out of 28

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 19.07.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 29.06.2011
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 14.07.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 30.06.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 07.07.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 29.06.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 04.07.2011
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 14.07.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 05.07.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 11.07.2011
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 20.07.2011
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 29.06.2011
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 18.07.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 11.08.2011
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 11.07.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 05.07.2011
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats Bermondsey and Old Southwark 08.12.2011
Jamieson, Cathy Labour Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 05.07.2011
Johnson, Alan Labour Party Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle 20.07.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 30.06.2011
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 06.07.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 04.07.2011
Munt, Tessa Liberal Democrats Wells Somerset 04.07.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 06.07.2011
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 05.07.2011
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 30.06.2011
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 14.07.2011
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 14.07.2011