Early day motion 2000

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House, in recalling Britain's proud maritime heritage, notes our continued reliance on seafarers with over 95 per cent. of the UK's imports and exports travelling by sea; acknowledges the inherent problems afflicting many thousands of merchant seafarers, including low pay, poor morale, mental and physical illness and separation from family for lengthy periods of time; further notes that these problems are compounded by exploitative employers sailing under flags of convenience and the growing threat of piracy with approximately 600 seafarers currently held captive by Somali pirates; congratulates the national Catholic charity, the Apostleship of the Sea, on its work in meeting the welfare and pastoral needs of seafarers, regardless of their faith, and being an effective advocate for seafarers' welfare; hopes that this vital work will receive renewed support from the presentations, prayers and collections associated with Sea Sunday on 10 July 2011; and urges the Government to ratify the Maritime Labour Convention 2006 without further delay and ensure that the rights enshrined therein are given real force.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 37

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 37 out of 37

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 27.06.2011
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 29.06.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 27.06.2011
Brazier, Julian Conservative Party Canterbury 27.06.2011
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 29.06.2011
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 29.06.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 29.06.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 28.06.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 05.09.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 27.06.2011
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 29.06.2011
Danczuk, Simon Labour Party Rochdale 27.06.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 27.06.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 30.06.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 27.06.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 29.06.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 05.07.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 29.06.2011
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 11.08.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 28.06.2011
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 18.07.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 11.08.2011
Jamieson, Cathy Labour Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 05.07.2011
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 06.07.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 29.06.2011
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 06.07.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 29.06.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 11.08.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 28.06.2011
Munt, Tessa Liberal Democrats Wells Somerset 04.07.2011
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 13.07.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 28.06.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 05.07.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 27.06.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 28.06.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 29.06.2011
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 14.07.2011