Early day motion 1997

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates The Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) on organising the Parliamentary Links Day on 28 June 2011 on the theme of Global Challenges - Solutions from Science; welcomes the Society's proven commitment to serve the public interest by improving hon. Members' understanding of science; notes keynote addresses by right hon. Members for Havant, Minister of State for Universities and Science, the hon. Member for Newcastle Central on behalf of HM Opposition and the hon. Member for Ellesmere Port and Neston as Chair of the Science and Technology Select Committee; furthernotes that other speakers include Professor David Phillips OBE, President RSC, Professor Laura Casselton, Vice-President of the Royal Society, Dr Shaun Fitzgerald, Royal Academy of Engineering, Professor Brian Cox, Manchester University, Dr Mike Pitts, RSC, Dr Mark Downs, the Society of Biology, Jonathan Flint, the Institute of Physics, Dr Bryan Lovell, President of the Geological Society, Imran Khan, Director of CaSE, Professor David Cope, Director of the Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology, Professor David Clary, Chief Scientific Adviser to the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, Dr Hilary Weller on behalf of the Council forMathematical Science, Dr Iwan Roberts, Institution of Chemical Engineers and Dr Jim Wild, Royal Astronomical Society; furthernotes that the Royal Society of Chemistry's pioneering Parliamentary Link Scheme, pairing scientists with hon.Members, is open to right hon. and hon. Members on all sides of the House; further notes that the Parliamentary Links Day is an established and respected event on the annual parliamentary calendar; and welcomes its outstanding contribution to strengthening the dialogue between Parliament and the science and engineering community.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 24

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 24 out of 24

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 29.06.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 27.06.2011
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 29.06.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 28.06.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 29.06.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 18.07.2011
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 11.07.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 29.06.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 29.06.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 05.07.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 04.07.2011
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 05.07.2011
Huppert, Julian [R] Liberal Democrats Cambridge 27.06.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 30.06.2011
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 06.07.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 04.07.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 28.06.2011
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 27.06.2011
Munt, Tessa Liberal Democrats Wells Somerset 04.07.2011
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 29.06.2011
Tredinnick, David Conservative Party Bosworth 29.06.2011
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 06.07.2011
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 30.06.2011
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 14.07.2011