Early day motion 1986

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises that two thirds of public transport journeys are made by bus; believes that buses play a vital role in society, linking people to work, education, shops and services, keeping the elderly self-sufficient, supporting local economies and offering an immediate lower carbon alternative to car use; notes that hundreds of local authority supported bus services deemed socially necessary are being withdrawn; is concerned that the decision to reduce the Bus Service Operators Grant by 20 per cent. from 2012 will further damage the bus network and undermine Government objectives to tackle unemployment and promote equal opportunities and social mobility, particularly in rural areas; and calls on the Government to ensure buses receive the funding and support that they need to play their part in keeping the country mobile and on the road to recovery.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 49

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 49 out of 49

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 30.04.2012
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 30.04.2012
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 05.09.2011
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 29.06.2011
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 09.09.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 23.06.2011
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 29.06.2011
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 29.06.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 29.06.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 28.06.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 05.07.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 05.09.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.06.2011
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 04.07.2011
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 05.07.2011
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 05.07.2011
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 27.06.2011
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 11.08.2011
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 11.07.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 27.06.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 30.06.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 27.06.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 05.09.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 29.06.2011
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 11.08.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 28.06.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 27.06.2011
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 04.07.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 11.08.2011
Jarvis, Dan Labour Party Barnsley Central 11.08.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 30.06.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 29.06.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 29.06.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 29.06.2011
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 06.07.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 23.06.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 28.06.2011
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 23.06.2011
Munt, Tessa Liberal Democrats Wells Somerset 04.07.2011
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 05.07.2011
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 13.07.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 23.06.2011
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 28.06.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 28.06.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 28.06.2011
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 29.06.2011
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 13.07.2011
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 30.06.2011
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 14.07.2011